NEWS FLASH! DAN FARIS STEPS DOWN

Co-founder of CABA and Board President

Dan’s letter follows:

Hello all and a big “thank you!” >

I have been Co-chair (with Rob Cannon when B.I.K.E.S. was created) and Chairman for 15 years. It has been a great ride. As of June 21, I will be stepping down from the Board. From the beginning B.I.K.E.S./CABA has had people who have generously given their time, energy and expertise to improve cycling for all of us in the region. I can’t possibly thank all of you in this letter, but I want you to know how much I have relied on you and how much I appreciate all you have done. I am grateful that from past Board members such as Terry Lansdell, Trena Frye, Ben House, Brad Winter and John Cock of B.I.K.E.S., to our current Board with Keith Sorensen, Jon Harding, Tobe Holmes, Weldon Weaver, and Bill Short, CABA has been blessed with some strong leaders. Thank you to Martin Zimmerman, who as also stepping down as CABA’s Executive Director after eight years of service. Martin has helped take CABA to a new level. He took CABA from being well known in the political arena to being known as a key player in Charlotte’s transportation and environmental future. He has also played a major role in making CABA better known at the grassroots level– to everyday cyclists on the streets of our city. A big thank you to Bill Short, our sage advisor and inimitable secretary, who will also be leaving the Board. There’s going to be a lot less gray hair on our Board now!

From the outset our organization has fought for the rights of all cyclists, from least experienced neighborhood riders to veteran commuters and club riders. I am sure our philosophy of inclusiveness and diversity will continue. They say the only constant in life is change. During this time of change CABA will need your continued input and strong support. I am sure you will, as you have done so often in the past, step up to the task. I am grateful that our capable Vice Chairman, Weldon Weaver, will be taking over as Chairman as I step down.

 Thank you all, and keep on pedaling!

 Yours truly, Dan Faris

3 Responses to NEWS FLASH! DAN FARIS STEPS DOWN

  1. sorensonian says:

    Dan, you and Bill will certainly be missed. Thanks for all you have done!

  2. weldonweaver says:

    Great job Dan! Thanks for your service!

  3. Buzz says:

    Dear Dan, your legacy will live on way past our time. Every day I walk under trees I didn’t plant, I drink from wells I didn’t dig. I enjoy city cycling routes that I had nothing to do with. I thank you. It may not be historic in some peoples minds but me? You helped start a revolution. A good one. One I’ll always be thankful for. See you on the road.

Leave a Reply

